Sustainable Groundwater Management Act

Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA)
On September 16, 2014, Governor Jerry Brown signed three bills into law: Assembly Bill 1739, Senate Bill 1319, and Senate Bill 1168, that became collectively known as the Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA), creating a framework for sustainable, local groundwater management for the first time in California history. In 2015, the California Department of Water Resources (DWR) evaluated and prioritized the 515 groundwater basins identified in DWR Bulletin 118, and 127 of these groundwater basins were designated as high- or medium-priority basins requiring them to be sustainably managed by 2042. SGMA required local authorities to form Groundwater Sustainability Agencies (GSAs) by June 30, 2017 to evaluate conditions in their local groundwater basins and adopt locally-based Groundwater Sustainability Plans (GSPs), or Alternative GSPs, tailored to their regional economic and environmental needs by January 1, 2020 for critically over-drafted basins, and January 1, 2022 for the remaining high- and medium-priority basins.

Coachella Valley Groundwater Basin and Subbasins

The Coachella Valley Groundwater Basin has been divided into four subbasins as defined in DWR Bulletin 118:

  • Indio Subbasin (7-21.01) 
  • Mission Creek Subbasin (7-21.02)
  • San Gorgonio Pass Subbasin (7-21.03)
  • Desert Hot Springs Subbasin (7-21.04)
The Indio, Mission Creek, and San Gorgonio Pass Subbasins have been designated as medium-priority, and the Desert Hot Springs Subbasin has been designated as very low-priority, by the DWR.
The Coachella Valley Water District (CVWD) has been designated an “exclusive” GSA over its service area for the Indio and Mission Creek Subbasins. More information regarding SGMA compliance is available using the links below:
Indio Subbasin SGMA Compliance
Mission Creek Subbasin SGMA Compliance

For more information contact:
Zoe Rodriguez del Rey at
Coachella Valley Groundwater Basin and Subbasins